Assalamualaikum wrt wbt..

This blog is for anyone , especially mualaf like me who wants to learn more about Islam.I will be posting what I think is beneficial for me and others from various resources..InsyaAllah.( If you would like to share anything, please email me at Thanks!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

what is halal?

*Notes:..sometimes people misunderstands about what is non-halal doesn't only mean pork. 

What is Halal ? ( حلال, ḥalāl, halaal )

In Islam, beside prayer and other religious activities, eating is respected as a matter of worship of God. Muslims consume to maintain good health in order to perform their duty to contribute their knowledge and efforts for the welfare of society. Islam has no desire to make people's lives difficult, narrow, and circumscribed; on the contrary; he desires ease, goodness, guidance, and mercy for them. Eating Halal is not only a religion governed rules and manners but also a way of life and they reflect Islamic ideas and values.

Islam shows mercy towards people in that whenever it forbids something it provides a better substitute with which to replace it. Islam forbids usury but allows profitable business.

Islam forbids gambling, but allows winning prizes in contests of shooting, racing, wrestling, etc. Islam forbids adultery but urges Muslims to marry as soon as they can support a family. Islam ban drinking alcohol but permit all other good and healthy drinks. Islam forbids what is bad in food but allows what is good and nourishing.

In Arabic, Halal (also sometimes spelled halaal) is a Quranic word meaning anything that is ‘lawful, legal, licit, legitimate, permissible, allowable, permitted, allowed, admissible, authorised, unprohibited, unforbidden or unproscribed or acceptable to all aspects of daily life and betterment of social context.

The word “Halal” is associated with the word “Toyyib” which means ‘good’. This is clearly stated in Quran 2:168

Within the Islamic religion, a strong emphasis is placed on cleanliness — both spiritually and in the context of food and drink

For a food or drink product to be approved for consumption it must conform to the Islamic dietary laws as specified in the Qur'an, the Hadith (sayings) of the Prophet Muhammad, his Sunnah (tradition) and in the Fiqh (understanding) of the Islamic Jurists : Hanafi, Shafi', Maliki and Hambali

In Food, the term is most commonly used in the narrower context of Muslim dietary laws. Islam has laid down three very important guidelines, specially where Halal meat ( Dhabiha ) and poultry ( Zabiha ) are concerned.

Whether the consumption of the foodstuff is prohibited by Allah,

Whether the Halal food is obtained through Halal or Haram means, and

Whether or not the material is harmful to health.

There are several factors that determine the Halal /Haram status of a particular Halal product. Amongst others, it is dependent on its nature, how it was processed and where it originated from.

There are mainly two terms that mean Islamic prohibition or restriction on food: Halal and Haram

Halal food

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. The opposite of halal is haram, which means unlawful or prohibited. Halal and haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. However, we will use these terms only in relation to food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, pharmaceuticals, food ingredients, and food contact materials.

While many things are clearly halal or haram, there are some things which are not clear. Further information is needed to categorize them as halal or haram. Such items are often referred to as mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable.

All foods are considered halal except the following (which are haram):

Swine/Pork and its by-products

Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering

Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

Foods contaminated with any of the above products

Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavors are questionable (mashbooh), because the origin of these ingredients is not known.

No comments: